Assessor Paul D. Petersen

Maricopa County Assessor's Office

Rental Registration

How do I know if I need to register my property?
Pursuant to A.R.S. § 33-1902 any property that is used solely as leased or rented for residential purposes must register certain information related to the property and its ownership with the assessor in the county which the property is located. Registering your property as a rental is a separate process from recording an Affidavit. Please complete the Residential Real Property Registration form on our website or search for your parcel and click "Register Rental."
How is my legal classification affected when I register as a rental?

Registered rentals occupied by a qualified family member as their primary residence per A.R.S § 42-12003 will be classified as a legal class 3, primary residence.

Registered rentals occupied by non-qualified family members will be classified as a legal class 4.2, rental/leased residential.

Who qualifies as a Qualified Family Member?
A qualified family member includes only: (1) a natural or adopted child or descendant of the owner's child; (2) a stepchild of the owner: (3) the owner's parent or an ancestor of the owner's parent; (4) a stepparent of the owner; (5) a child-in-law of the owner or; 6) a natural or adopted sibling of the owner.
What is a statutory agent?
A residential rental property owner who does not reside in Arizona must designate a statutory agent who lives in the state of Arizona to accept legal service on his/her behalf. Regardless of where organized; a corporation, limited liability company, partnership, limited partnership, trust or real estate trust, must register the name of the ownership entity as well as a principal within the business entity per A.R.S. § 33-1902.
Does my tax rate go up if I register as a rental?
No, tax ratio and tax assessment remain the same regardless if you are a legal class 3 or legal class 4.2. However, as a 4.2 you will not be eligible to receive the State Aid Credit on your tax bill which may create an increase in your tax bill.
What is the $10.00 fee?
A fee of $10.00 USD shall be collected for new Residential Rental Registrations and any changes to existing registered rentals in the Registry to include any changes to: Ownership Information, Contact Information, Out-Of-State Owner's Designation of Statutory Agent, and the removal of Statutory Agent.
How do I know if I need to register my property?
Pursuant to A.R.S. § 33-1902 any property that is used solely as leased or rented for residential purposes must register certain information related to the property and its ownership with the county assessor in which the property is located. Registering your property as a rental is a separate process from recording an Affidavit. Please complete the Residential Real Property Registration form on our website.
How do I report rental property violations?
The Assessor's office maintains the Rental Registry records for all residential properties located within the County. The incorporated municipality in which the property is located has the responsibility of code enforcement. If you believe a property is a rental and the owner has not properly registered the rental activity, you should contact the municipality in which the property is located.
How do I check if a property is registered as a rental?
Search for a property by name, parcel number, agent name, street name, or subdivision. Once you've selected the specific parcel in question, look in the upper right of the parcel detail results. If the Parcel Type is "Residential/Rental" then we have the property registered as a rental. If the Parcel Type is merely "Residential" then we do not have a rental registration on file for that parcel.