**Eddie Cook** Maricopa County Assessor ASSESSOR'S OFFICE

COL

#### 2024 PERSONAL EXEMPTION APPLICATION

#### PLEASE CHECK ONE:

TOTALLY DISABLED I DISABLED VETERAN (based on %) WIDOWED

**Purpose:** The Personal Exemptions programs are outlined in the Arizona Revised Statute (ARS) §42-11111 and the Arizona Constitution Article 9 Section 2. A tax exemption reduces the Assessed Limited Property Value (LPV) which is the taxable amount due on one's properties up to \$4.476. This reduction may lower your tax bills or in some cases eliminate them all together if the assessed value is lower than the exemption amount. Tax Exemptions are based on residency, income, and assessed limited property value. The exemption amount is first applied to real property, then unsecured mobile home and/or vehicle registration.

## This form must be submitted on or before September 30<sup>th</sup> - applications submitted after March 1<sup>st</sup> must be accompanied by an Exemption Deadline Waiver.

Applicant Name:						
Mailing Address:		City:	State:	Zip:		
Phone:	E-Mail:					
Alt Phone or E-Mail: Self Spouse Other: (Please make sure to check your spam or junk folders for correspondence from PE.SVP@maricopa.gov)						

1. Please list all properties owned in Arizona (www.mcassessor.maricopa.gov) The total combined Assessed Limited Property Value (LPV) limit is \$30,099 for applicant's portion of ownership. Single owner exemption is applied to 100% of LPV. If applicant is a co-owner, exemption is applied to 50% of LPV.

Parcel /Account ID	County	Location Address

- 2. I confirm I am an Arizona resident Yes No 3. I am applying after the March 1<sup>st</sup> deadline Yes No If yes, you must submit an Exemption Deadline Waiver with your application. 4. Including you, how many people live in your home? Over 18 17 and under
  - a. How are they related to you? (Explain)



#### 2024 PERSONAL EXEMPTION APPLICATION

5. I am applying for:

Widowed Exemption: provide copy of spouse's death certificate.

Totally Disabled Exemption: provide AZ Department of Revenue Certificate of Disability (DOR82514B) completed, stamped, and signed by a competent medical authority. If a stamp cannot be obtained, please see additional list in general instructions under Question 5.

Disabled Veteran Exemption: provide letter from Department of Veterans Affairs showing percentage of disability. Must have had an Honorable Discharge to qualify. A copy of your Military DD214 may be requested by the Assessor's Office to verify qualification.

6. I solemnly swear: (Check one)

That <u>there are no children under age 18 living with me</u> in my residence and that my income from **all** sources, together with the income of all sources of all adult children residing with me in the previous calendar year, did not exceed the statutory limit of: **\$37,297**. No proof of income documents required at this time.

That <u>there are medically or physically disabled children, or children under age 18,</u> <u>living with me</u> in my residence; and that my income from all sources, together with the income from all sources of all children residing with me in the previous calendar year, did not exceed the statutory limit of: **\$44,745**. No proof of income documents required at this time.

☐ <u>Unsure if my household meets the income qualification</u>. If unsure, please submit proof of Arizona adjusted gross income (copy of 2023 AZ Tax Return) and any untaxed pension or retirement benefits, **excluding** Social Security and/or Veterans disability payments.

## \*Additional documentation may be requested by the Assessor's Office to verify income.

Under penalty of perjury, I/we hereby certify that all the information contained in this application form and supporting documentation are true and correct. I understand that I am required to review my status annually and notify the Assessor in writing of any event/change (death, marital status, income, ownership) that may disqualify me from further exemption consideration.

Print Name (s)	/	Date
Signatures (s)	/	Date

#### 2024 PERSONAL EXEMPTION APPLICATION

## Please provide copies (not originals) of documentation with your application. Please black out your social security number and account numbers to protect your identity.

SIGNED: Completed and signed 2024 Personal Exemption Affidavit (Application) per applicant

**COPY of**: Proof of AZ residency provided for applicant (Driver's license, state ID, or voter card)

## **COPY of:** Exemption specific documentation:

- Spouse's Death Certificate
- Certificate of Disability
- Letter from Department of Veterans Affairs (Veteran exemption amount is multiplied by the percentage of disability and applied to the percentage of ownership)

**COPY of:** Income documentation from all sources, if applicable

**COPY of:** Exemption Deadline Waiver if applying after March 1<sup>st</sup>

# Return your completed application with supporting documents to our office by one of these available options:

**File Online:** Visit the Assessor Website at mcassessor.maricopa.gov; Select "Customer Portal," register, and file your Personal Exemption online.

Email: <u>PE.SVP@Maricopa.gov</u>

Mail or Fax: Attn: PE Maricopa County Assessor 301 W Jefferson St Phoenix, AZ 85003 OR at Fax 602-506-7620

In Person: Visit any one of our Assessor's Offices listed below:

Maricopa County Assessor's Downtown Phoenix Office	P.O.R.A (Sun City West) Office	Sun City CAN Office 10195 W Coggins Dr.
301 W Jefferson St. 2 <sup>nd</sup> Floor	13815 W Camino Del Sol	602-506-5044
Monday thru Friday 8am - 5pm 602-506-3406	623-584-4288	
Walk-ins welcome	By Appointment Only	By Appointment Only

Please call for alternative solutions for filing if there are additional hardships.

#### 2024 PERSONAL EXEMPTION APPLICATION

### **GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS**

**Question 1.** Please list your Parcel or Account ID number as it is listed on the Assessor's Website at <u>www.mcassessor.maricopa.gov</u>. Please list all properties owned in Arizona along with the county. The exemption amount is first applied to real property, then to unsecured mobile homes and/or vehicle registration.

**Question 2.** Applicant must be an Arizona resident. Proof of residency can include a Driver's license, state ID card, voter registration card, or an official document such as an SSA-1099 or signed federal tax return.

**Question 3.** If applying after March 1<sup>st</sup>, please submit an Exemption Deadline Waiver with your application.

**Question 4.** Please list all people living in your home. Income from all individuals residing in your home is considered for the income qualification.

Question 5. Specific exemption qualifications:

- > Widowed provide a copy of your spouse's death certificate.
- Totally Disabled Disabled form from the AZ Department of Revenue (DOR82514B) completed, signed, and stamped with the doctor, psychiatrist, nurse practitioner, or physician assistant's name at the time of filing. If no stamp can be obtained, please provide a receipt from the provider, a note on the provider's office letterhead, or a prescription form issued by the provider. A disability letter issued from the Department of Veterans Affairs in Arizona will also be accepted in lieu of a stamp.
- > Disabled Veteran provide disability letter issued from the Department of Veterans Affairs.

**Question 6.** If unsure if you meet the income qualifications and you:

- Filed Tax Returns Submit the first two pages of *ALL* household federal tax return 1040 for last year. You may contact the Internal Revenue Service at 1-800-906-9887 for Tax Return Transcripts in lieu of Tax Returns.
- Did not file Tax Returns Submit, if applicable, gross income listed on the IRS-1099 forms or any amount of capital gains excluded from adjusted gross income, nontaxable strike benefits, nontaxable interest that is received from the federal government, or any of its instrumentalities, pension, or retirement payments and/or annuity that is not otherwise exempt.